San Gimignano Museum 1300

Now I really wanted to see this. When I was doing some reading about San Gimignao before my trip I discovered their website.

But what is all this about? It’s just great. Someone had the great idea to rebuild a model of the city of San Gimignano as it was in the year 1300. So they build all the small houses and gardens, all the little people and animals to make this model come to life. I can only imagine how much work that was and how much time it took to build all this.

If you buy your tickets at the tourist information, they give you a free tour of the museum. Which we did. And our guide was so funny and told us so much about history. She was really great. And we had the museum almost for ourselfs, which gave me the opportunity to take lots of fotos.

Have a look:


Just click on the photo to go to their website.

They even build some streets in a larger scale and some rooms inside the towers. I think it is one of the nicest museums I have ever seen. And actually they are working on a model of Monteriggioni right now. I can’t wait to come back and see it when it is ready.

I try to include a little video I made, so I hope that works.

 

Leave a Reply

