Abbazia di Sant’Antimo / Abbey of Sant’AntimO

I think it is my favorite church.

St. Antimo is about one thousand years old. It is simple, neat and has a beautiful surrounding. It is beautiful, how the light reflects from its warm stones. They are almost white with a touch of yellow.

I remember the first time, I visited St. Antimo. It was a warm and sunny day and the church was nice and cool inside. The scent of incense was in the air and from somewhere some gregorian chants came to my ear. It was totally magic. There was no one around, so I had the church to myself. I just could sit and cherish the moment.

There are still monks today and their way of praying is singing. I really like that. If you want, you can sit and watch. I felt very welcome to do so.

I think it is the simplicity of St. Antimo that really touches my very soul. I like to come back here every time I am in Tuscany.

2 thoughts on “Abbazia di Sant’Antimo / Abbey of Sant’AntimO

  1. Almost visited this abby while touring the south of Tuscany. But instead we decided to stop at the Abbazia Monte Oilveto Maggiore, which I would highly recommend. It’s in the gorgeous Le Crete region just north of Pienza and Montepulciano. Wish I could have seen both of them, Sant’ Antimo looks wonderful!

    • I think this was a good choice, too. I know Monte Oliveto, too. It is impossible to compare them, because they are utterly different. Antimo is very small and Oliveto is almost a town by itself. And always remember to save some for your next visit, that you can look forward to.

Leave a Reply

